The country park extends for 80 hectares (200 acres) across the Northern and Western slopes of Werneth Low. Only 9.5 miles from the city centre of Manchester, the area is both a haven for wildlife and an area where visitors can find peace and relaxation. The park's location provides panoramic views across Manchester and beyond to Liverpool. The dark blue silhouette of the Welsh mountains can often be seen on clear days, as can the Pennine hills close by.
In 1920, following a public appeal, which raised exactly £14,013, 14 shilling and 8 pennies, the War Memorial Committee of the Hyde Borough Council made a momentous decision by purchasing Lower Higham Farm and all its land. Following the purchase a scheme was put forward to protect the land forever for the health and well being of the community, a lasting tribute to the 710 men from this area who perished in The Great War of 1914 to 1918. On the site known as Hackingknife, at a cost of £2,000, Hyde's main war memorial was officially unveiled on the 25th of June 1921. The land and farm are now held in trust by the Hyde War Memorial Trust.
During the late 1970s the former Greater Manchester Council, Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council and the Hyde War Memorial Trust agreed to establish Werneth Low Country Park. On the 9th of June 1980, His Royal Highness the Duke of Gloucester officially declared the park open.
A joint management committee was created, which continues to this day to govern country park matters.