NBN Awards for Wildlife Recording - 2019 winners


The winners of the NBN Awards for Wildlife Recording 2019 have been announced!

Developed in 2015 by the National Biodiversity Network Trust, the National Forum for Biological Recording and the Biological Records Centre, these annual Awards celebrate the individuals, the newcomers and the groups of people or organisations that are making outstanding contributions to Wildlife recording and improving our understanding of the natural world in the UK.

The winners are:

NBN Young Person’s Award (open to individuals aged 11-20)

  • Michael Sinclair (age 15) – from Glasgow, Strathclyde
  • runner-up: Will Scott (age 19) – from Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

NBN Newcomer Award (open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Sue Taylor – from Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
  • runner-up: Cerin Poland – from Truro, Cornwall

NBN Award for wildlife recording – marine (open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Dawn Watson – from Saxmundham, Suffolk
  • runner-up: Jane Pottas – from Whitby, North Yorkshire

NBN Award for wildlife recording – terrestrial (open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Ian Wallace – from Liverpool, Merseyside
  • runner-up: Alan Outen – from Shefford, Bedfordshire

NBN Group Award (no age restrictions)

  • Joy of Wildlife group – from Shropshire
  • Croxteth Park Volunteer Group – from Liverpool, Merseyside

John Sawyer NBN Open Data Award

More details and photos are available on the NBN website.

Wildlife recording in action (bee surveying led by Ian Cheeseborough)
Image source
Pete Boardman